Myth and Meaning.

I began my second term with a conceptual project, where we were asked to explore different myths and to develop our research to create a narrative.  After researching into several definitions of myths, I found that there was a central theme of ‘repetition,’ so I continued my investigations by looking at myths that revolved around repetition, such as reincarnation and déjà vu. During the researching period of this project I began to highlight selected words that were of significance. ‘Time’ was the word that came up often so I used this theme as a final myth proposal.

My next tasks were to design and make a wearable piece of jewellery based on my chosen myth using my background and contextual research. During my idea generation stage of my project I used my investigational images for inspiration to produce drawings and models. Gradually I began to use my drawings and models to create wearable designs. My main focus was on the continual motion of time and my representation of this was a series of multiple circles randomly connected. This reflects my theme of time because in the final piece it is not possible to distinguish the beginning and the end.

I wanted to incorporate a function into my piece, so I decided that I would have a necklace come out of an image so while it is sat within the image it is unnoticeable until you pull it out.

 

Inital design drawing.

When I had finalised my outcome, I produced my design on CAD which then went onto being laser cut and engraved out of clear acrylic. I added a coloured backing onto my piece to make it more visually pleasing. 

 

Final Outcome.

Engraved and Laser Cut clear acrylic riveted onto a colour acrylic backing.

This year at university is about exploring different techniques and materials that we have not used before.  Acrylic is a material which, like metal you use heat to achieve flexibility, however once it’s cooled it cannot be manipulated so it is difficult to achieve the desired accurate shapes.  Although I was pleased with the outcome I had produced for this project,  I feel acrylic is a material that is difficult to work with because its not as easy to get the same perfect finish as you can with metal.  However, acrylic may play a smaller part in future pieces.

 

Images of neckpiece out of its position and on the body.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment